top of page

2. NEW YORK.


New York. City that never sleeps. A place where people go to find themselves or to become someone new. Big Apple. A dream come true. The biggest nightmare for crowd haters. A city of skyscrapers. A city of rats, subways and homeless people. City of brutal truth and being yourself. City that became mine.  

Some people say that there's no place like New York. I couldn't agree more. With one small exception. This city is as unique as cliché. All the people we bump into on the streets, all buildings we are passing rushing to catch a subway, all the smells, languages and views are something we already saw before as much as the sensation of shocking new and unknown. A contradiction was never a thing in my writing but to be honest that's the only way to describe NY. It is the city of contradictions. Only here disgustingly rich meets ridiculously poor. Only here beauty has a dirt and awfulness on the background. Only here you can be the most obscure without judgements. New Yorkers are ghosts that are still wit us. How amazing and scary is that. In the crowd of millions you become nothing. Maybe only a shadow that is passing another avenue and street on the way home. Honestly we only see most of the faces once. We kiss the same lips just that one night. We never see each other again. A coincidence here is almost a miracle. Meeting someone again is a sign send straight from the universe. If you are being given one, use it. How many times did I fall in love knowing I won't ever see these blue/brown/green eyes again? How many times did I kiss back knowing that this moment will last only forever in my mind? I've heard maybe and see you again so many times knowing that it's an empty promise. Still it makes me wonder... Is New York the city where everyone falls in love, knowing that the object of their weakness might disappear as fast as it showed up? Or maybe it's another way around. You are being given a chance to find a love of your life absolutely unexpectedly just when you thought that maybe it's not meant to be for you? In my case, for now, my lover, my broken heart, my stolen kisses are all about and for the City. Only in this way I know my love will be mutual. Once you enter New York, you become a New Yorker knowing that, what I just said will become a part of you. New York is the reflection of its citizens and New Yorkers are the mixture of all the cultures, languages, foods and mentality of this world. Everyone will find there something for themselves. Something that will make them feel like they belong here. Once you feel it, you're one of us. Another individual in a group of millions from all over the world. The most important is (I guess) to say if what I experienced here was as good and amazing as I expected? Was The City as overwhelming and incredible as people say? My answer won't be simple. Yes and no. Is the City magical? Yes. But what comes with greatness is also a huge, no, enormous mess. City as big as NY has its burden. The more people and tourists are coming to one place the more messy and unpredictable and dangerous it becomes. I believe that my statement isn't anything shocking. New York seen in the movies is not the city I know. It's obvious that in the huge productions people won't show us dirty streets, rats in the subway and piles of trash bags that are sometimes the size of a small building on the side of a sidewalk. And it's not happening on the outskirts of Brooklyn or Bronx. It's the very heart of Manhattan.  In pretty movies with pretty actresses we won't see hundreds of homeless people, we won't smell them, we won't notice them. The won't get cursed by them. New York is an experience. You need to see it. You need to feel it. Sometimes you need to get slapped by it. We can't forget about magic. What is beautiful about this City is that once you get there you won't look at what's in front of you. You only want to look up. And there, in the sky, at the top of the skyscrapers there are no trash bags, no dirt, no obscurity. Only blue sky, silver rooftops, dreams and hopes of millions. Tragic love, green dollars, parties that last weeks and shiny glasses of endless Long Island Ice Tea. There's a reason why millions are coming here. Isn't it New York the only place in the world where everything can happen? You can become a billionaire in one night, you can fall in love with someone you bumped into on the street, you can be who you always wanted to be. You can wear a pink fur coat, be covered in glitter from head to toe, swing your hips wearing ridiculous, silver high heels while screaming out loud the lyrics of Queen in the middle of 5th Avenue and you won't shock anyone. It's the city of crazy people. And if you're one of them, you're one of us. I guess I'm not specific enough. Is 5th Avenue as fancy as everyone assumes? Not really. It's just a really long avenue with a lot of expensive shops. To crowded for my taste. How about Times Square? It was the first thing I saw in New York and it made me speechless. There's something about the lights of this place and nights washed by Coca Cola and Victoria's Secret adds. Once you get used to it, you avoid it. Central Park? Cherry on the top of the cake for Gossip Girl fans. Brooklyn Bridge? Amazing. Brooklyn? In some ways better than Manhattan. And I can go like this for ages... We have time and I have a lot of memories to share. So I will leave it here. I will start with few pictures of my favorite places in the City.

Before you go please make sure to subscribe to my youtube channel and give some love to my videos :) All the love! M. *as you already know I'm not a native English speaker. I make mistakes and I still learn. If something I wrote bothers you (grammar/style wise) let me know. I will fix it with pleasure.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Nie ma jeszcze tagów.
bottom of page